Schedule ~ July 2017

Schedule of Services

Saint Vladimir’s Russian Orthodox Church
6824-128th Ave. Edmonton, AB  T5C 1S7        Church phone:(780) 476.2381
Archpriest Andrew Kencis, Rector ~ e-mail: frandrew@monasterypress.com
Saturday or Festal Evening Vigils at 6:00 PM / Sunday or Feast Day Divine Liturgies at 10:00 AM
Confessions heard during the evening vigils.
(Dates given as follows: Civil Calendar [n.s.] /Church Calendar [o.s.] )
Great Lent begins on Monday, Feb. 27, n.s.

 

 

Wisdom from the Holy Fathers:

One should realize that one deserves every temporal and eternal punishment. Why is this? It is because the infinitely holy and good God has lavished His love on us, but we sin against Him. What misfortune would be sufficient to punish such ingratitude? But the Lord does not visit such misfortune upon us – nothing we suffer is commensurate with what we deserve. The proud human mind says that this teaching is a false image of a cruel god. The humble mind realizes that this is very Good News indeed, for it signifies that God desires our salvation, and that the misfortunes He sends us are not retribution but cleansing, because He wants us to be with Him once more in Paradise. ~ St. Ignaty Brianchaninov, The Arena

Sat. July 1/June 18
Sun. July 2/June 19
Apostle Jude
St. John of SF (transferred to Jun 18)
St. Paisius the Great of Egypt
Sat. July 8/June 25
Sun. July 9/June 26
Tikhvin Icon of the Theotokos
St. David of Thessalonika
Tue. July 11/June 28
Wed. July 12/June 29
Saints Peter and Paul,
Pre-eminent  Apostles

Apostles’ Lent ends

Sat. July 15/July 2
Sun. July 16/July 3
Hieromartyr Philip, Metropolitan of Moscow

No Services – Parish Camping Trip

Sat. July 22/July 9
Sun. July 23/July 10
St. Anthony of the Kiev Caves, Founder of Monasticism in Russia
Thu. July 27/July 14
Fri. July 28/July 15
Great Prince Vladimir, Equal to the Apostles – Patronal Feast

Metropolitan Dimitrios will be presiding

Sat. July 29/July 16
Sun. July 30/July 17
Fathers of the Six Councils Great-Martyr Margaret (Macrina)

 

%d bloggers like this: