Schedule ~ April 2018 and Holy Week

Schedule of Services

Saint Vladimir’s Russian Orthodox Church
6824-128th Ave. Edmonton, AB  T5C 1S7        Church phone:(780) 476.2381
Archpriest Andrew Kencis, Rector ~ e-mail: frandrew@monasterypress.com
Saturday or Festal Evening Vigils at 6:00 PM / Sunday or Feast Day Divine Liturgies at 10:00 AM
Confessions heard during the evening vigils.
(Dates given as follows: Civil Calendar [n.s.] /Church Calendar [o.s.] )
Great Lent begins on Monday, Feb. 27, n.s.

Schedule for Holy Week

 

Wisdom from the Holy Scriptures

…Jesus said to them
: “Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and that repentance and forgiveness of sins should be preached in His Name to all nations…” ~St. Luke 24:46-47.

…And Jesus came and said to them: “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you: and lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the age.”   ~St. Matthew 28: 18-20.

 

Sat. March 31/March 18
Sun. April 1/March 19
Palm Sunday ~ Entry of the Lord into Jerusalem
(fish allowed)
Fri. April 6/March 24
Sat. April 7/March 25
Feast of the Annunciation
(no fish)
Sun. April 8/March 26 PASCHA ~THE RESURRECTION  OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST
Sat. April 14/April 1
Sun. April 15/April 2
Sunday of the
St. Thomas ~ Antipascha
Sat. Aprl 21/April 8
Sun. April 22/April 9
Third Sunday of Pascha ~ Sunday of the Myrrh-bearing Women

NO SERVICES

Sat. April 28/April 15
Sun. April 29/April 16
Fourth Sunday of Pascha
~ Sunday of the Paralytic

NO SERVICES

Note:  Because the Feast of the Annunciation falls on Holy Saturday –- no fish is allowed. A fast-free week follows Pascha.

Schedule for Holy Week

%d bloggers like this: